The General Data Protection Regulation or GDPR gives citizens of the European Economic Area (EEA) certain rights when you use services that process personal data. In order to allow you to exercise these rights, gixconnect made changes so you can now better control your data on the app.
Before we elaborate how you can exercise your GDPR rights, we want to remind you of the additional rights gixconnect users enjoy just by being gixconnect users.
The gixconnect standard: We can’t read or listen to any of your private chats and calls because they are protected by end-to-end encryption by default. On gixconnect it is automatically in place from as soon as you start sending messages or making calls with the app without any need for you to turn on your encryption settings. gixconnect can’t sell your privacy, simply because we can’t access your private chats.
gixconnect lets you Delete Any Type Of Message you’ve sent for both yourself and the people you’ve sent it to. This means whatever you decided to delete will no longer appear on your device or on your friend’s device, even if they have already seen it. You don’t even have to worry about how long it’s been since you sent your message since you can delete at any time.
When you have something extra sensitive to say, Secret Chats let you set a self-destruct timer for every message in the conversation. Every message in a Secret Chat is automatically deleted from all members’ of the chat’s phones once it has been read. Secret Chats also have inbuilt screenshot protection – Android users can’t take a screenshot, and if someone on an iPhone takes a screenshot, you will receive a notification.
gixconnect doesn’t store your personal chats. Messages that are delivered aren’t copied onto gixconnect’s servers. If your friend’s phone is off or they don’t have an internet connection, your message will wait patiently, safe and encrypted, on gixconnect’s servers for a limited time or until their device is ready to receive it.
If you believe we have the wrong data about you, or that your data is incomplete, feel free to change it at any time through the profile settings on your gixconnect settings on your mobile device. If you can’t find what you are looking for, Contact Us.
We have made it easy for you to delete your historical data on the app, while continuing to use the app. Simply tap on the Delete Your Data button in your privacy settings. We will delete the data which we are not otherwise required to keep or is necessary for the provision of the service. And no need to worry – deleting your data won’t remove the chats on your gixconnect app on your phone.
Note that when you deactivate the gixconnect account your data and chats are automatically deleted from your devices.
We allow you to opt out of certain processing of your data by using the MyGix Privacy Settings on your mobile device. You can decide which processing operations you want to opt-out of. You can also change the settings on your mobile device operating system at any time to prevent us gaining access to certain data such as your accurate location – but this may negatively impact on your user experience.
We have created a Request Your Data Button in MyGix’s privacy settings on your mobile device to make a simple way for you to access the data connected to your account. Once it is ready, you will receive a file from gixconnect containing this data.
On top of the ability to opt out of processing by changing your settings, you can object to the processing of certain forms of data by contacting our support. Complete this online form and explain your special circumstances. If you receive emails from us, you can always opt out on the bottom of the email, or by contacting our support.
gixconnect welcomes young users between the ages of 13 and 16. Children’s privacy settings are set by default to the most protective settings and can’t be changed until the user reaches 16 years of age. This way, users between the ages of 13 and 16, can safely use our services with enhanced protection by us.